Hollenback Prize 2025 RECIPIENT


Dr. Franklin Tay is an academic clinician and researcher in the field of dental medicine who currently holds the titles of Professor and Chairman in the Department of Endodontics at the Dental College of Georgia – Augusta University.  He also serves as a professor in the Department of Oral Biology and the College of Graduate Studies at the same institution.  His academic journey began in Queensland, Australia, where he earned his Bachelor of Dental Sciences with First Class Honors from 1976 to 1981.  He furthered his education with a Ph.D. from the University of Hong Kong between 1992 and 1997, and later obtained a Certificate in Endodontics from the Medical College of Georgia School of Dentistry between 2005 and 2007.

 Over the course of his career, Dr. Tay has held various academic appointments, including roles as a research scientist, associate professor, and professor across multiple departments at Georgia Health Sciences University and Georgia Regents University (now known as Augusta University).  He has been instrumental in numerous administrative and supervisory roles, including Director of Postgraduate Endodontics and Chairman of the Department of Endodontics.  Dr. Tay’s contributions extend to a broad array of committee assignments at Augusta University, and national roles, such as serving as Associate Editor for the Journal of Dentistry and the Journal of Endodontics.

 Dr. Tay’s extensive research interests are demonstrated by his substantial grant acquisitions and prolific publications. He has led groundbreaking research projects in dentin bonding and in the biomineralization of collagen matrices.  His scholarly work has significantly impacted the field, as evidenced by numerous publications in peer reviewed journals and presentations at prestigious international conferences.  Dr. Tay is presently ranked 79th among top scientists in the field of Materials Science in the United States and 182nd in the world (https://research.com/scientists-rankings/materials-science).  His D-index is 132, with 617 publications and 59,385 citations.  His accolades, such as the Changjiang Scholar Award and his fellowship in the Academy of Dental Materials, highlight his status as a leading figure in dental research and education.  His ongoing contributions continue to influence practices and advancements in endodontics and dental biomaterials.