Hollenback Prize – 2018


Dr. Ed Swift received his DMD degree from the Medical University of South Carolina and a master’s degree in Operative Dentistry from the University of Iowa. He practiced general dentistry for several years in South Carolina, and has taught at the University of Mississippi and the University of Iowa. He is currently a professor in the Department of Operative Dentistry and the Vice Dean for Educationand Chief Academic Officer at the University of North Carolina School of Dentistry, Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Dr. Swift is a member of various professional organizations including the American Dental Association, Academy of Operative Dentistry, and International Association for Dental Research. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry and the Academy of Dental Materials, and a founding member and past president of the Society for Color and Appearance in Dentistry. He also has served on the Dentsply Corporate Education Advisory Board and the 3M Scientific Dentistry Board. Dr. Swift serves on the editorial boards of the Journal of Esthetic and Restorative Dentistry, Operative Dentistry, and American Journal of Dentistry. He has published over 200 journal articles and is a co-editor of a leading dental textbook, Sturdevant’s Art and Science of Operative Dentistry. He has presented many continuing education courses and scientific papers regionally, nationally, and internationally. He has been an invited speaker for several professional organizations and was recognized as one of the “Annual Leaders in CE” by Dentistry Today for several consecutive years.

The academy is most pleased to recognize the exceptional work, leadership, mentorship and lifetime achievements of Ed Swift. Dr. Swift’s scientific contributions have greatly advanced the field of Operative Dentistry. The Academy of Operative Dentistry is honored to announce Dr. Ed Swift as the most worthy recipient of the 2018 George M. Hollenback Memorial prize.

Congratulations to Ed!

Dr. Andre Ritter will have the honor of presenting this award to Dr. Swift.